Awards to Spotlight Community’s Best and Brightest

9th annual Community Appreciation Night to be held this spring

The time has come to search for the best and brightest in this community.

The 9th annual Community Appreciation Awards Night will be held in Outlook later this spring, but for right now, the call is going out to the public to help name the newest award recipients.

article continues below

Every year, the prestigious event recognizes deserving individuals, youths, businesses and groups/events that have gone above and beyond for their community, bestowing them the honors of Citizen, Business, Youth and Group/Event of the Year awards.

Past recipients of the Jim Kook Citizen of the Year award include dedicated volunteers such as Darlene Hovdestad, Maureen Weiterman, Edith Slatnik, John McPhail and Lyall Campbell, as well as former long-time Outlook mayor Bob Stephenson.  Past recipients of the Business of the Year award include the Outlook Funeral Chapel, Jacq’y Jaye’s Boutique & Espresso Bar, JWD Market Garden and the Reel Theatre.  Past recipients of the Youth of the Year award include Chastan Sim, Matthew Hogan, Madalina Luedtke and Katelyn Hicks.  Past recipients of the Group/Event of the Year award include the Outlook Fire Department, the New Pool Committee, the Outlook & District Festival of Music, and the Longest Hockey Game in History played by a group of local athletes.

Nomination forms can be picked up at The Outlook, AG Foods, A&E Enterprises, and the Riverbend Co-op Marketplace.  The deadline for nominations is March 15.

You can also submit nominations online through the Chamber of Commerce’s website at the following web link:

The Community Appreciation Awards Night is sponsored by the Outlook & District Chamber of Commerce and The Outlook.

© The Outlook

Greener Packaging POLL

Would you be willing to pay more for items if they were in more environmentally friendly packaging?

or  view results

Popular Community