Outlook and area to receive ‘Safe Restart’ funding

Last week, Government Relations Minister Lori Carr announced that Saskatchewan’s portion of the federal Safe Restart Canada Plan for municipal governments, approximately $70.32 million, will begin to be distributed immediately to all compliant Saskatchewan municipalities.

“As Saskatchewan returns to a new normal, this is another important investment to help municipalities and their residents weather the storm,” Carr said in a media release.  “This funding will support efforts to protect health and safety, prepare for potential future waves of COVID-19, and facilitate the safe re-opening of economies.”

article continues below

Of the amount, $62.26 million will be granted in general municipal support on a per capita basis, while $8.07 million will be allocated to municipal public transit support for the four cities with transit systems, based on ridership.  Quickly and efficiently, the amounts will start to be distributed immediately so municipal leaders can funnel dollars to areas of highest local priority.

This federal funding was matched by $150 million dollars announced previously from the Government of Saskatchewan in the Municipal Economic Enhancement Program.

Funds being distributed in the local area include the town of Outlook, which is set to receive $135,951.  As well, the town of Hanley is set to receive $30,483.  In addition, these villages and corresponding funding allocations are as follows:

Beechy - $13,601

Broderick - $5,071

Conquest - $9,545

Dinsmore - $17,240

Elbow - $20,103

Glenside - $4,534

Hawarden - $3,102

Kenaston - $16,822

Loreburn - $6,383

Lucky Lake - $17,240

Macrorie - $4,056

Milden - $9,962

Strongfield - $2,386

Wiseton - $4,713

The rural municipalities of Rudy and Fertile Valley will also receive funding in the respective amounts of $27,799 and $32,154.

© The Outlook

Precautionary Measures POLL

Have increasing COVID-19 cases caused you to take greater precautionary measures?

or  view results